How My Brother’s Betrayal After My Father’s Death Changed Me: A Journey Through Grief, Revenge, and Forgiveness

WanderChronicles
4 min readOct 9, 2024

My mother’s death shook me deeply, but after my father died, I felt as if the world had stopped. Faced with the reality of losing my second leg, I collapsed where I stood. It was as if a knife had been plunged into my heart; I couldn’t breathe, I couldn’t scream, my soul was bleeding. A huge emptiness, a feeling of being lost… The protective circle of my family had shattered in an instant. But even more painful than this loss was what happened afterward. Only a week after laying my father to rest, I saw my brother’s true colors.

The inheritance…

My father’s body hadn’t even cooled down yet, and it seemed my brother had been waiting for this opportunity for years, as he immediately began talking about the inheritance. Deep down, I had always felt this was coming, but I didn’t want it to be true. My brother had always appeared to be my protector; when I was younger, he cared for me and guided me. That was until he got married. After his marriage, he changed. He stopped calling, stopped checking in. I didn’t have many expectations of him, but how could anyone ignore a call from their father at 2 a.m. asking to be taken to the hospital?

--

--

WanderChronicles

Join me on a journey through untold places and the echoes of history. Welcome to WanderChronicles!